A Private Chat is a conversation that does not belong to a Team. When you start a new Private Chat, you are creating a unique isolated conversation between you and the members.
Blink automatically creates a Private Chat between you and each of your contacts but they are otherwise not discoverable. Only the Private Chats you're a member of will be visible to you.
Private Chats are useful when:
- You want to take something offline and need a private conversation outside of a Team
- You have a simple topic with a static audience and you don't need to create a Team to work with them.
- It's such short lived topic that creating a Team is overkill
Much like Channels, anyone on Blink can be part of a chat. So third-parties, customers and partners can all be invited to a chat to work together.
Things to remember
Any member of a Private Chat can add a new member, but only administrators can remove people or change the details such as the title, description or icon.
When someone leaves a Private chat, they lose access to it completely. This includes all content shared in it and the conversation history. The only way to regain access is to be re-invited by a current member.