What is a mention?
A mention is a way to draw a user's attention to a particular message or feed post on Blink.
How to mention someone
Simply prefix a persons name with an @ symbol. As you start typing, a list of users will appear for you to select from. You are able to tag them by the full name, or using backspace delete the surname, and tag by first name only.
When you pick a user to mention, their name will appear highlighted in the message or post. If the user is logged into the mobile or desktop app, they will receive a notification. You are able to mention a user in a feed post, a feed post comment and in a chat.
This is useful for getting the attention of a chat member even though they may have All Message notifications disabled.
When you use a mention:
- The sender is assured that the person they mentioned got a notification immediately.
- The recipient can reduce the notification level in a chat, safe in the knowledge that if someone needs their attention immediately they can be mentioned.